Stec Records Forum - Discussions about software and hardware used to make music.
gfxgfx
 
Welcome, Guest.

Login with username, password and session length

November 21, 2017, 09:59:04 AM
logo
gfxgfx
gfxgfx
 
If you registered as a user but have not been approved, your email address or IP address may be listed at http://www.stopforumspam.com and was rejected.  Contact us (http://www.stecrecords.com/contact.php) if you believe this was in error.
gfxgfx

gfx* Home Help Search Calendar Login Registergfx
The Stec Records Forum  |  Audio Gear  |  MPX 1  |  MPX 1 Firmware « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: MPX 1 Firmware  (Read 4380 times)
bsellon
Chief Administrator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 770


Time reveals truth.


WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2012, 10:09:30 PM »

There is not a lot you can do about the MPX 1 but you might consider picking up an MPX G2 which is basically an upgraded MPX 1 with an analog overdrive circuit added. The G2 has 24 bit converters compared to the MPX 1's 16 (may be 18 on the outputs) and includes stereo IN via the aux inputs.  The G2 also includes 20 seconds of delay memory and some new effects including compressors and loopers. The only real negative that I know of with the G2 is that it doesn't have S/PDIF IO. Analog only.  Otherwise an excellent MPX 1 upgrade.
Logged
loopman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Email
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 04:44:23 PM »

Hi Bob,
sorry, I actually meant just the audio memory of the delay times, nothing else, because they are soo short  :(
I've taken a look to the Service manual of the MPX-1 and I've supposed that only by changing the resident DRAMs with more capable ones, I could increase the audio memory for the delay times
but, after contacting the Lexicon staff, they said me that it would be useless to change the resident DRAMs, because the DSP can't reads the memory upgrade.
I would invest in a project to upgrade the MPX-1's DSP with a new frimware, so that it will be able to achieve much more delay times..
who knows if there is someone which could help me to do that.
Logged
bsellon
Chief Administrator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 770


Time reveals truth.


WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 02:36:51 PM »

I don't think there are going to be any updates for the MPX 1 since it is discontinued but what exactly do you need the delay to do? 

You definitely want to press the Options button when on one of the delay fields. You can select delay time as meters, feet, ms and a ratio of the current tempo which can be tapped or locked to external MIDI clock.

One of the biggest limitations was the amount of audio memory so longer delay times are not possible without hardware and software changes.
Logged
loopman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Email
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 01:06:42 PM »

Hi guys,
It would be a dream for me to have the possibility to rewrite a new firmware version for the MPX 1 to achieve more delay times to fit in.. who knows if it would be possible, I would pay for it, of course..

best greetings
Logged
The Stec Records Forum  |  Audio Gear  |  MPX 1  |  MPX 1 Firmware « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Apollo design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.125 seconds with 20 queries.